Pray for them.

Combined Federal Campaign – CFC #11957

MCA-CFC 2013

Archive for Awards & Scholarships


Ensign Rick Shaffer – 2010 Scholarship

Posted by: | Comments (0)

Ensign Rick Shaffer, CCPO, U. S. Navy, received the 2010 MCA Chaplain Candidate Scholarship [2010-2011 Academic Year] in a ceremony at Denver Seminary on Thursday, 9 September 2010.

Left to right are:    Dr. Jan McCormack, Director of Chaplaincy & Pastoral Counseling, Denver Seminary [Ret. USAF Lt Col / current MCA Executive Committee member]; Chaplain (LTC) Grover G. Devault, USA Ret [MCA Scholarship Committee]; Ensign Rick Shaffer, Denver Seminary Master of Divinity/Chaplaincy student; Dr. Randy MacFarland, Provost/Dean of Denver Seminary; and Dr. Fred Gingrich, Counseling Division Chair, Denver Seminary.

Comments (0)

For the Academic Year 2010-2011, the MCA will award Chaplain Candidate Scholarships in the amount of $2,000 each.  Eligibility requirements are:

  • Full time enrollment in an accredited seminary.
  • Ecclesiastical endorsement for future ministry as a military chaplain.
  • Appointment and active service as a “Chaplain Candidate” in one of the Armed Services.
  • Completion of the MCA Chaplain Candidate Scholarship application form and submission of all requirements.
Print out the two page application form and carefully complete all portions according to the instructions.  Submit your complete application package to the MCA National Office at the address provided on the form.

Thank you for your preparation to serve the spiritual needs of Warriors and their families!

Click here for the 2010-2011 scholarship application form.

Your package must be postmarked not later than 30 June 2010.

On 6 May during the 85th Annual Meeting and National Institute in Columbia, SC, the Military Chaplains Association conferred the 2010 National Citizenship Award on Bonnie Carroll, Executive Director, Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors [TAPS].   

Ms. Carroll founded TAPS in 1992 following the death of her husband Brigadier General Tom Carroll in an Army C-12 plane crash.   Since then, TAPS has become the frontline resource for those who are grieving a loved one who died while serving our Nation.  Go to for a full view of all TAPS services.

 The MCA National Citizenship Award recognizes  exemplary public service with exceptional leadership integrity and enduring commitment to the spiritual welfare of our Nation’s Warriors and their families.  It was first given to Astronaut John Glenn during the 1962 MCA Annual Meeting in Colorado Springs, CO.  Recipients since then include leaders from industry, entertainment, religious faith groups, government, and the military.

- - Thank you for supporting our Nation’s Warriors, Veterans, families, survivors, and their chaplains. - -