The Military Chaplains Association maintains three categories of annual awards.  These awards are a reflection of two major MCA features – ministry profession advocacy and ministry profession support.

The National Citizenship Award

Recognizes individuals who make a significant contribution in public service and who support the values and needs of our nation’s military members and their families.   Selected annually by the MCA National Executive Committee.  Presented during the MCA National Institute.

Recipients to date

Major General Robert Livingston, United States Army (Retired).

The David E. White Leadership Award

Established in 2005 by the Military Officers Association of America (MOAA).  Chaplain David E. White, former MCA Executive Director and Past National President was the first recipient.   Recognizes lifetime commitment as a chaplain, vision for Joint service and inter-agency collaboration, and overall ministry professionalism.  Selected by a committee from MOAA and MCA.  Presented annually during the MCA  National Institute.

Recipients to date

The G. William Dando Volunteer Service Award

G. William Dando (LCDR, CHC, USN) became the Executive Director of the MCA in 1990 after his retirement from the Navy. He was endorsed by the Presbyterian Church (USA). Chaplain Dando joined the MCA in 1967 and became a Life Member in 1978. He was involved with governance and leadership of the Association for three decades until his death in 1997. Because of his leadership and the example he set, our award for volunteer service is named for him.

Recipients to date

2019 MCA Distinguished Service Awards

The MCA Distinguuished Service Award was initiated in 1991. This year we are delighted to recognize the ministries of chaplains in the Army, Air Force, Sea Services, Civil Air Patrol, and Departmnet of Veterans Affairs.

Recipients to date

United States Army

CH (MAJ) Jacob Snodgrass, US Army
CH (MAJ) Matthew Todero, US Army Reserve
CH (CPT) Thomas Ballard, US Army National Guard

United States Navy

LT Jason Owen, CHC, US Navy
LCDR John Stockstill, CHC, US Navy Reserve
LCDR Jason Weatherwax, CHC, US Navy (Serving with the USMC)
LT Francisco Muniz Valle, CHC, US Navy (Serving with the USCG)

United States Air Force

Ch, Capt, Jason Kim, US Air Force

Civil Air Patrol

Ch, Capt, David Knight, Civil Air Patrol

Department of Veterans Affairs

Chaplain David Goldstrom, Department of Veteran Affairs

Contact Us

Contact MCA